Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 7.52.18 AM

REVIEW: Google Domains – Good Bye GoDaddy, Good Riddance

I got my beta invite for Google Domains a week ago, and today was the first opportunity I had to make a transfer.

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 7.46.47 AM

This little GoDaddy email triggered my actions. And it’s not that I’m having trouble with GoDaddy’s domain services, but I have hated their misogynistic advertising for years. The lecherous old man who paws young Victoria’s Secrets models is no friend of mine. Even though the logo is kinda hip, the actual dude, the old GoDaddy CEO, is a creep. So let’s get started, moving away from GoDaddy all together. (GoDaddy’s hosting services are another matter all together, and I highly recommend you NOT host with GoDaddy for any reason.)

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 7.52.18 AM

In typical Google fashion the interface is minimal. And the process for transferring is quite simple and well explained. This process can be troublesome and take a long time to complete. My entire process took about 5 minutes, including a verification email and authorization code generation from GoDaddy.

Here’s the process form from Google Domains.

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 7.47.02 AM

 

And each step turns green when you take the action and refresh the page. And when I was done I even saved $2.99 off GoDaddy’s pricing.

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 8.13.28 AM

 

from $14.99 per year from GoDaddy,

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 7.50.29 AM

 

 

to $12.00 from Google. There is a benefit to the transfer as well. And I noticed in the process that Google can transfer the domain and keep your current registration time. But you must add at least a year on your contract. I assume that’s how they pay for the transfer service.

So for me, while I have GoDaddy domains coming up for renewal I will move everything to Google Domains. One more egg in Google’s basket, yes, but cutting the ties with GoDaddy once and for all will be a welcome completion. It’s fine for them to keep up their creepy Superbowl ads, I’m no longer in their target demographic. Male Info Tech workers between the ages of 21 and 40.

Here’s the look of the management section of Google Domains. (One of the things that was so bad about GoDaddy was the tabbed and pull-down frenzy of their site. Google keeps it clean and simple. A very welcome sight for my site.

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 8.29.31 AM

 

 

They to have partner ads at the bottom of this main screen. Even with AdBlock on the ads show up because they are native images and links. Oh well, a small price to pay. And the Ads are not on the Email, Settings, or Advanced pages.

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 8.29.59 AM

And Google Domains even offers a Private registration option so that your actual contact info and phone numbers don’t get spammed.

That’s about it. Thanks Google for taking over another service for me. Happy to have you there, and happy to save $3 on every transfer.

@jmacofearth (also seen on Google+: jmacofearth)
permalink: http://uber.la/2014/09/review-google-domains-good-bye-godaddy-good-riddance/

Check out the Strategist’s Notebook page and these other posts about online marketing:

 

Be Sociable, Share!

    One thought on “REVIEW: Google Domains – Good Bye GoDaddy, Good Riddance

    1. Great article. Do you by any chance have any invite codes left? I’d love to get away from GoDaddy as well.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *